So I was sitting at work one day during April, and realized that it was getting to be springtime. I remembered that Macungie, PA had their little EV-Event about that time of year, so I went looking to see if I had missed it yet this year. Lo and behold, it was on May 5th – I hadn’t missed it yet! Not only had I not missed it, but I also had no plans for that weekend! Talked to my wife, made some phone calls, and was ready to go. Of the three of us working together, only Jason was able to go along – which is too bad for Scott.

We both had a GREAT time. It was excellent to see what everyone did the same, and what everyone did differently in their conversions. Jay and I both learned a lot from everyone we talked to – our thanks go out to everyone for being patient with us as we asked all sorts of questions. My only regrets are that we couldn’t bring an EV with us ourselves, and that we had to leave all too soon.

I tried to do a better job of taking pictures this year than I did last year. I didn’t get everything, but I did get quite a fair bit. I think the turnout was really strong – and I hope that interest was sparked in other folks that came to look at everything.

Without further ado, pictures!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I haven’t captioned everything (anything); but I hope to eventually have that done. If your vehicle is here, and you have a web page all about it, contact me and I’ll make up a post “spotlighting” you/your EV! If you’d rather not have that, I can just add in any information about your conversion to the comments on the photos (link to a blog about it, evalbum page, or whatnot).

Special thanks should go out to the following:

  • Chris Freyman for helping facilitate the design of the Open Revolt DC motor controller (which we’re building a version of for the Jetta)
  • Brandon Hollinger for answering nine million questions and helping to get us “charged up” again to work on/finish our conversion
  • Jenny Issacs for helping to plan the EV-Events and for creating Bucks County Renewables
My only regret is that I couldn’t spend more time learning and talking to you all and that I live so far away!
